“Self delusion is pulling in your stomach when you step on the scales.”
– Paul Sweeney

Haha, this quote cracks me up! I read it a few days ago and was reminded of it this morning as I stepped on the scale. I’m sure you’ve done something like this, too. Don’t lie! 🙂

Well, I just wanted to check in with all of the challengers. How are you all doing? It’s Day 3, and I’m hoping that you’re finding a good groove and getting into it, as well as seeing some results!

(…and those of you who are still pondering whether or not to join, what are you waiting for?? Go for it!!)

It’s been going pretty well here at our house. I have been easing back into the routine, which hasn’t been as hard as I expected. It has felt good to be exercising again. Good to sweat, good to use muscles that haven’t been used much in the last few months. Challenging, certainly, but a good challenge!

We have also been getting back into weighing all of our food, keeping our food journals, and have been thrilled to rediscover the absolute non-mystery of losing weight. I have no doubt that other plans work just as well, but I am very much enthralled with the plan we’re using. Based on my figures the evening before, I am usually able to predict my weight that morning with precision! How cool is that?

Challenge Contestants

I thought I’d introduce the current contestants and their goals. If any of you are not comfortable having your goals on here for the world to see, PLEASE say something and I’ll take them off immediately!

Rebecca S.
Can be read here.

Nicholas S.
Can be read here.

Amy A.

  • Lose 30 pounds.  I think this is an obtainable yet challenging goal for myself since I am a larger girl.  Larger people tend to lose weight a little faster in the beginning.  That being said, it’s also enough of a challenge that I will have to stay on track.
  • I have already joined Weight Watchers as of one month ago, so my plan is to journal my food intake on a daily basis.  It’s so easy to do but it’s such a struggle to actually write it down!  Along with journaling, I will be making more of an effort to get in more veg and less red meat.  I’ve been reading the blogs on this site and am so enthusiastic about trying more vegetarian dishes.
  • Exercise.  I am committing to working out at least three 20 minute workouts each week.  Right now I am concentrating on the act of being active whether it’s walking around the block or around the perimeter of WalMart before I check out.  Eventually I would like to add some kind of cardio to my workout but I’ll add that in and update you at a later date.

Susan A.

  • Lose 20 lbs

Lucy S.

  • Healthy eating / portion control
  • Cut back, or out, caffeine, alcohol and medication that isn’t absolutely necessary
  • Move everyday, this will include pilates 2 days a week, Zumba 2 days a week and doing the walk/run program from Running for Mortals.  I would like to walk/run a 5k at the end of 100 days.
  • Take the time to plan and record food.
  • Drink 1 gallon of water daily.
  • Lose 20 lbs.

Tamarind S.

  • Be able to walk 3 miles/ day, 3 days a week
  • Lose 20 lbs
  • Lose one dress size
  • Be able to do 200 stomach crunches/day
  • Reduce alcohol use to weekends only

Jenny T.

  • Get back into the routine that I had, before my life became a soap opera… which would include
    • strength training with weights (3x week)
    • yoga (at LEAST 3x week)
    • cardio, using different things 5x week (videos, the treadmill, walking longer and faster, swimming and hiking).
  • Walk the Bolder Boulder 10K on May 25
  • Nutrition: getting together a month’s worth of inexpensive, nutritious menu ideas
  • Giving up Dr. Pepper

I can’t tell you how thrilled I am at all of your goals! All of you have put some serious consideration into this, and with a little bit of work, I have no doubt that you will be reaching these goals (and possibly exceeding them!) by the time this 100 days is up. It is exciting because I know all of you personally, and I am so proud of you!

Oh, and each Friday, Nick and I plan to post our challenge updates for the week (current weight, amount of weight lost during the challenge, what we’ve been up to during the week, etc.), so you can be looking forward to that! …Nothing like a public weigh-in to keep me working hard throughout the week, huh? 😉

Happy Wednesday to you all!

