859018_52062793

Be always at war with your vices, at peace with your neighbors, and let each new year find you a better man.
~Benjamin Franklin

Three weeks from today, we will bid a fond adieu to 2008, and begin a fresh new year. 2009.

New Year’s Eve/New Year’s Day holds special meaning for Nick and I in that it was on that day in 2001/2002 that I first knew Nick was “the one,” on that day in 2002/2003 that we started dating, and on that day in 2003/2004 that Nick proposed to me.

New Year’s Day of 2008 marked the first day that we really began on the journey we are on now (making exercise a permanent part of our life, eating well, losing weight, etc.). It was more than a resolution, it was a change that we purposefully made together, and needless to say, it “stuck!”

2008.

As the last three weeks of 2008 fly by at a dizzying pace you are probably a little caught up in the Christmas rush. I encourage you to slow down and consider just how far you’ve come this year. All of the good, all of the not-so-good. Appreciate all of the changes you’ve made, and the strength you have discovered within.

As a year draws to a close, I always look forward to revisiting the events of that year; the triumphs, the tragedies, and everything in between. 2008 has been an excellent year for me. There were many changes (as mentioned within the posts of this blog) and considerable growth. I struggled, I stretched, and I challenged myself, and I consider that a year well-lived.

2009.

As you consider 2009 and all that you hope to accomplish, I hope that instead of seeing flaws that need to be corrected, you see potential to change, grow, and progress.

If you haven’t noticed, I’m all for setting goals and dreaming big, and I think it’s important to look at the year ahead with a good measure of optimism. You are looking at an entire year that is just waiting for you; a huge blank canvas. Do with it what you will, it’s yours! You have all the tools you need to create a masterpiece, to accomplish what is important to you, and to make all of the changes you’ve been wanting to make. Now is your chance.

587447_12403297

We will open the book.  Its pages are blank.  We are going to put words on them ourselves.  The book is called Opportunity and its first chapter is New Year’s Day.  ~Edith Lovejoy Pierce

Three Weeks.

With each day that is left in this year, I intend to greet the day and live it like I’ve been living all of the others in 2008. With intention, with purpose, and with gratefulness. I will keep moving, one step at a time, and continue to progress. I will live well.

What will you do with the last three weeks of this year?

