Whew! Where has the time gone?

Well, it’s been awhile since I posted anything on our blog, so I thought it was time for an update. With photos and everything! I hope you all had a great Thanksgiving, and that you were able to spend it with those you love.

Thanksgiving.

As Nick mentioned, we planned to *walk* the Turkey Trek on Thanksgiving morning. When I first saw that there was a 5K on Thanksgiving morning, I was so excited! What a great, positive family tradition (and a great way to start the day, too.)!

My parents, Nick’s dad, Nick, and I were the takers, and a little before 8:00, we arrived at the location of the starting line. The air was buzzing with energy, and the skies looked threatening. At about 8:25, we followed the crowd and lined up toward the back. There were so many people, and it was just exciting!

At this point, like Nick said, I had decided that I would mostly walk, but add a few jogs in here and there. That was my plan of attack. Well, the gun went off, everyone started walking and jogging, and I couldn’t hold myself back. According to MapMyRun.com, I walked for about 0.08 miles, and then I told my mom, “I have to run it!”

And I did.

A full week ahead of schedule, I ran my first 5K, and I ran it in 40:08.

This was a HUGE victory for me, for more reasons than one. You guys know that I have had a love/hate relationship with running ever since I started in February. It hurts and it’s just plain hard. I’ve started and stopped a “running program” about 3 times, and was determined to see it through this time. And, boy, I did. What a sweet, sweet victory!
dsc_00071
After getting home from the Turkey Trek. From L-R: Nick, Me, Sam, Mom, Dad.

dsc_0072
Mom & Lucy in the kitchen.

dsc_00731
Mom cooking her spinach, gruyere tart. Delish.

dsc_0106
One of the two food tables.

dsc_0107
The rest of the food.

dsc_0101
Sam carving the turkey.

dsc_0110
Birds-eye view of one of the tables.

dsc_0123
The other table. Like my decor?

We had a great Thanksgiving, with family, good memories, and yummy food, and hope you had the same.

I haven’t been getting much exercise in the last few days, because I’ve been under the weather since Saturday. I’m on the mend now, and I’m looking forward to getting back into it and having a last surge between now and 2009. I’m getting so close to my goal, I can almost feel it! I’ve got less than 10lbs to go until I reach my goal for Christmas!

Hope you’re all having a great week!

