I’ve been thinking a lot lately about goals.

Although I’ve set some rather large goals for our 100-Day Fitness Challenge, something I haven’t really mentioned on the blog thus far is that I am constantly setting other small goals for myself. While it is definitely important to define a few long-range goals, I think it is equally important to find small goals to complete along the way, so that you get a sense of achievement and a renewed enthusiasm for all that hard work you’re doing! When you begin to see some results, you will probably be more excited to keep going. And it’s nice to know that there truly is a light at the end of the tunnel.

743473_70247642

It can be really frustrating to have a huge goal that you’d like to achieve in the back of your mind from day to day. Especially when you’re having a tough week, the weight won’t seem to budge, you just don’t feel like exercising, or when that craving hits.

516188_74610237

Even though one of my big goals for the challenge was to lose 40 more pounds, I am continually setting smaller, more manageable goals to try for in the meantime.

For example, on Monday, I decided that I would try to lose 6 pounds between then and Thanksgiving. It’s a bit of a stretch, but the perfect amount of time that I can really buckle down and try for it! After Thanksgiving, we have just about a month until it’s Christmas, so I will set another goal for that time. At this point, I’m thinking it will be to lose about 15 pounds more.

Another good idea, at least in my mind, is to set a few goals that are not related to weight-loss. As you know, I am currently training to run a 5K race in December. That way, if I’m not currently having success at losing weight, there is no denying that I am progressing each day in my running.

dsc_0828

Keep updating your perspective… spell out in detail where you hope to end up, but also keep sight of where you are currently at. By doing this, you will also be able to appreciate how far you’ve come, and how much you’ve changed.

Baby steps, folks, it’s all about baby steps.

Happy weekend, everyone. Make sure you do something active and enjoy what’s left of fall.

dsc_0662

