It sure was cold outside this morning.

audience (in unison): How cold was it?

It was so cold I saw lawyers with their hands in their own pockets.

According to my new early morning companion, www.weather.com, it was 21 degrees this morning and it was windy, which made it feel like it was 11.

I have to admit I had a hard time getting out this morning.  I actually sat down and took off my running shoes after opening the door to test the temperature.  I thought that Jack certainly had the right idea–curl up in a chair with a nice fur coat:

jack-chair

Part of what made me put my shoes back on and head out into the darkness was knowing that it was my turn to write a post today, and I did not want it to be two words long: slept in.  So, thank you to our loyal reader or readers or those of you who happened to stumble into our blog today.

My plan for today was a five mile run, which included three miles of tempo running, @ 9:12 min/mile pace, sandwiched by  warm-up and cool-down miles.  Because of the cold and my general unwillingness to go outside, I initially modified the plan to jog once around the block (about a mile).  I knew that this was not enough, but I thought I could trick myself into five miles if I just started with one (BTW here is a great post by Coach Dean Hebert that I fortunately read yesterday).

So, I started out with the plan to go just one mile, but when I was about half-way through I notice a nice, well lit street that I haven’t run down before and went that way.  From there I did a little exploring until I ended up in familiar territory and the sun began to come up.  By that time, I was already three miles into my run so I figured I would finish it.

My planed ferocious five mile tempo run, turned into a slightly frozen five mile run with one tempo mile thrown in there somewhere (@ 9:08 min/mile).  Not what i planned, but not too shabby either.

The plan for this weekend is weights and swimming on Saturday, and my first long run in a couple of weeks on Sunday.  I’ll let you know how it goes.

Thanks.

