Sorry posting has been slow lately. I have been on somewhat of a hiatus since the Duke City Half-Marathon; still running and exercising, but not “training.” That all ended this morning around 4:45a.m.

“Early to bed, and early to rise, makes a man healthy, wealthy and wise”

– Benjamin Franklin

I don’t think Ben Franklin was a runner, otherwise he would have said something like “Early to bed, and early to rise, gives one the time to do track repeats.”  I don’t question Mr. Franklin’s assertion on health, but I have yet to find any money on my early morning runs, and I have begun to question my own wisdom of running around in circles, in the dark and rain/snow mixture.

However, due to the end of Daylight Savings Time.  It is now dark after work AND in the early morning, so I figured I will take my weekday runs early, at least until the Winter Solstice (but that only makes sense, right?).

track

So, today was my first day of track repeats. This is a new addition to my training.  For now (unless or until I know better) I am going to go with Yasso 800’s.  These are basically 800 meter repeats at a prescribed pace separated by recovery jogs.  I started today with four repeats and will work my way up to ten in the next six weeks.

According to Runners’ World’s training calculator my splits for the 800’s should be 4:15.  My splits today were 3:57; 4:26; 4:17; 4:07.  Apparently, I need to work on running at a more even pace for each 800.  My goal is to get my splits below 4 minutes.  According to Bart Yasso, for whom the workout is named, if you can complete ten repeats at 4:00 then you are in shape to run a four hour marathon, which is my goal for Austin.

Good Morning.

