Dancin’ in the moonlight
Everybody’s feelin’ warm and right
It’s such a fine and natural sight
Everybody’s dancin’ in the moonlight

I’m sorry, but I don’t know that I can agree with King Harvest on this one (shocking I know).  I was neither warm nor right and I really couldn’t see anything.

I went on my first early morning run since the Summer.  With marathon training looming, I know I need to get used to running in the dark, cold mornings.  Under the “Principle of Overload,” or at least my version of it, I needed to get out there this morning and run for at least an hour.  That way, when marathon training starts, I have no excuse to skip a morning run because it is dark or cold or because I am tired, etc. ect. ect.  That’s right folks, I have to train for training.

I don’t like the cold or the dark so, naturally, I overprepared.  I had on three layers (a reflective, long-sleeve compression shirt; a running T-shirt; and a reflective vest).  I also took with me a flashlight–which was good since, apparently many neighborhoods around here don’t believe in street lights (I assume they are trying to reduce their carbon footprint)–and pepper spray (yes, I may be a 230lb, 3rd degree black-belt and former amateur boxer, but these are the mean streets of Santa Fe).

The run went well (5.75 mi @ 10:40 min/mi pace).  This was only my second run since the Duke City Half Marathon, and I think am still and shaking off some rust.  Tomorrow, I am going to get up early and drive to the local high school track–not sure if I will run, I just want to see if it is open to the public at that time.

Good Morning.

