The TIART topic today at the Runner’s Lounge is Running Quotes and Sayings.  I could not think of an original quote to inspire others; but, as I always say, if you are going to plagiarize, steal from the best. . .

The Bible has several passages in which an author uses a running or racing analogy to make a point or impart wisdom to the reader.  I am going to employ what I have dubbed a “reverse-double-backflip analogy” to turn a running analogy, which is really about explaining life altering wisdom, into an analogy that is actually about running.  Hold on, its going to be a bumpy ride:

1 Corinthians 9:24-27 reads:

25 Everyone who competes in the games goes into strict training. They do it to get a crown that will not last; but we do it to get a crown that will last forever.

26 Therefore I do not run like a man running aimlessly; I do not fight like a man beating the air.

27 No, I beat my body and make it my slave so that after I have preached to others, I myself will not be disqualified for the prize.

To me, this quote epitomizes the attitude of most people toeing the line at an event.  That is, we strive to run a race that is worthy of our own personal prizes.  Most are not simply running for a finishers’ medal.  They run for something more meaningful or even ethereal (“a crown that lasts forever”).  Some people run to inspire someone, some for personal glory, some even for the medical research that will benefit from the race; few run aimlessly.

I run for many reasons:  my wife, my family, my health, discipline, and that unexplainable feeling I get from accomplishing something extraordinary.  For these reasons, I choose to suffer in training; and I choose to run the best race I can, knowing that it will be painful and knowing I would still get a finishers medal even if I gave less than all I had.  To me, these prizes are worth it.

For this reason, I will repeat countless time on Sunday, my favorite running mantra:

“Pain is inevitable; suffering is optional”

Good Luck to everyone racing this weekend!

