It’s time for me to post my goals for the 100-Day Fitness Challenge. I have been thinking about what my goals for the challenge would be, and I’ve come up with the following:

  • I would like to complete the Couch to 5K program. I have tried this in the past, and for a reason that I can’t even remember, I never finished. The program is nicely structured, and takes nine weeks to complete. Basically, the program suggests running three days per week, alternating between walking and jogging (and it really is a slow jog). It concentrates mostly on the time you go (rather than a set distance), and at the end (or so I’ve been told by Nick, who successfully completed the program in May), you find yourself running the distance of 5K. This will be a good challenge for me because in the past, with running, I have endured mild shin splints (which was alleviated by new running shoes under the advice of our local running specialty store) and what I self-diagnosed as plantar fasciitis. Nevertheless, I know that with proper training (read: slowwww jog) and plenty of stretching, I will be able to complete this challenge. I will be starting Day 1 of this challenge on Monday, September 29.
  • After I complete the Couch to 5K program, I would like to actually run a 5K race. I am thinking of trying for the Jingle Bell 5K on December 6th.
  • I would like to complete the 100 Pushups Challenge. I am currently on Week 3. This is a challenge that Nick first brought to my attention. I balked and said, “I can’t do pushups!” but when I saw him doing more and more pushups (and most especially when I saw the muscles that began to protrude out of his arm!) I thought I’d give it a try. Well, folks, last night I did 16 -pause 60 sec.- 18 -pause 60 sec.- 14 -pause 60 sec.- 14 -pause 60 sec.- 25! I’m on my way to 100!
  • I would like to swim a mile (without stopping for a rest). Nick also found this system of training, where you work up to swimming a full mile without stopping. For the last several weeks, we’ve been swimming laps in the evenings, and we are currently up to 1/2 mile per session (but we do take breaks). I’d like to give this system a try and see if I can achieve this goal. A swimmer’s mile is 1650m, or 33 laps of the pool. Yikes!
  • I would also like to lose 40 more lbs. in the next 100 days. Pretty self explanatory. πŸ™‚

So, these are my goals. I will let you know how things are going.

Best of luck to all of you who have begun your challenge!
…and for those who haven’t begun, what are you waiting for? Sign up now! πŸ™‚

