I thought I would give you all a brief look at where my part in this blog originated and why it is meaningful to me.

A few years ago, after getting married and starting graduate school I inexplicably (at least in my own mind) gained over 40lbs in about one year. And I was not small to begin with. By the time I got my degree three years later, I weighed about 280lbs—about 100lbs heavier than is considered normal. I had high blood pressure, a resting heart rate in the high 90’s, and would wake up in the middle of the night gasping for air from my newly developed sleep apnea.* Wake up call, anyone?

Last year, when I began studying for the bar exam, I decided to run. For the whole summer I had nothing to do but study, and I thought that if I ran every morning during the nine-week study course I would be in great shape by the end of the summer.

I bought a new pair of running shoes and the next day I was off. I went to the golf course by my school at 6:00am and just started running. I ran the only way I knew how. I went all out. In my mind I must have sprinted for at least a mile, maybe more. In reality, was jogging at a moderate pace for about ten minutes before pain in my legs forced me to stop. At best, I went 3/4 of a mile, probably less. After that heroic effort, I could barely walk, let alone run, for two weeks.

During my recovery, I happened to come across the book, Ultramarathon Man, by Dean Karnazes. This guy is really amazing. Among other incredible feats, he has run a 200 mile relay race, by himself, multiple times. I realized that if he could do that, then I could make it around the 2 mile path around the golf course that so handily defeated me in our first meeting.

I reevaluated my training strategy. Rebecca found the Couch to 5k program online, and I read anything I could find on tips for beginning runners. Tip #1 on most any site I could find: GO SLOW! Apparently I made the classic beginner’s mistake, I thought that to run, I had to run as hard and as fast as I could.

Going very slowly (I was once passed by two walkers). I did the Couch to 5k program. Much to my amazement at the end of nine weeks I was able to “run” (15 min./mile pace) 3 miles.

Unfortunately, after the bar exam and moving, I stopped running and exercising. But, about 6 months ago, Rebecca inspired me to start running again, and I have been hooked ever since. My goal at that time was to run a 5k race by the end of the year. I joined a beginning running class at our very awesome specialty running shop, and with the class, I ran a 5k and even a 10k. Now, I am training for my first half-marathon. I have lost 35lbs in the past 6 months and feel great.

One thing I have learned in the past few months is that everyone needs continuing motivation to reach their goals. This motivation can come in many forms, but talking about your goals and sharing experiences seems to be one of the best ways to keep on track. So, here we are. I look forward to sharing my experiences with you and I hope you will feel free to do the same with us.

_____________

*Without taking any medication, my blood pressure is now normal, my resting heart rate is in the mid to low 60’s, and I think Jack snores louder than I do now.

